Pressing the delete button was a nightmare for all of us when deleting accounts, properties and views in Google Analytics. Specially for users that are managing multiple clients. Every user login receives an email post deletion, everyone panics, calls, phone calls…
Renaming the assets to “No worries” or “It’s ok” before deleting won’t be necessary anymore! Google Analytics has (finally) released the Trash Can functionality.
The trash can feature includes a safety layer before deleting our assets “forever” without being able to restore it. I’ve marked it between quotes because it could be restored, but you had to request it to the Google Analytics team to do that, and provide specific details for it.
If you delete a Google Analytics account, property or a profile view now, you still receive an email. But instead of disappearing, they go to the Trash Can.
Within the Google Analytics Trash Can it’s very easy to restore an asset, as shown in the screenshot below:
You can also see when the removed asset won’t be available anymore, 30 days after the first deletion.
The removed Google Analytics account, property or profile view will also appear within your asset list (property, view), but won’t be accessible until you restore it :-).
And you, did you have many problems removing Google Analytics accounts, properties or views?